The way to the official recognition as a world heritage region

  • 1996: In the chancery it was decided to apply to have the Middle-Rhine Valley recognised as a UNESCO cultural heritage region
  • 1997: The etablishment of the Middle-Rhine Valley forum for all local authorities between Bingen, Rüdesheim and Koblenz
  • 1998: The government appointed a representative for the UNESCO recognition process. The towns and cities on the Rhine commited themselves to the ”Rhein-Valley Charter”
  • December 2000: The application documents were submitted to the UNESCO in Paris
  • Juni 2002: The cultural-heritage committee in Budapest officially granted the world heritage status

Cultural landscapes recognised by the UNESCO as world heritage regions

  • the Wachau in Lower Austria
  • the Loire Valley in France
  • the upper Middle-Rhine Valley
  • Tokaj in Hungary

Other applicants in Germany:

  • the cathedral in Speyer
  • Roman buildings, the cathedral and Liebfrauen church in Trier
  • the cathedral in Cologne
  • the gardeb and palace in Potsdam
  • the Museum Island in Berlin
  • the pit customs union in Essen
  • the iron-works in Völklingen
  • Quedlinburg town
  • the old town in Lübeck
  • the garden in Wörlitz
  • Brühl Palace